Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets Trailer Released

I’m a big fan of movie trailers. Before the days of Youtube I would get to the theater extra early so I wouldn’t miss one preview. I would be shoving my face full of buttery popcorn eagerly hoping for a trailer to blow me a way and to look over at whoever I was with and give a little nod implying, “Yeah, I would watch the shit out of that movie.”

Now everyone complains that the trailers give too much of the movie away. Easy solution. Just don’t watch the trailer if you think it will spoil too much. Also, this isn’t a new phenomenon with trailers showing a lot of the movie, I mean goddamn Castaway showed that he got off of the island which is the biggest possible spoiler you can give besides a screen that just reads “THE BLOOD PAINTED VOLLEYBALL FLOATS AWAY. IT’S SAD.”

valerian-178361

Today the trailer for Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets was released. First off, stupid title. Just name it Valerian. A long and confusing title like that sounds like a dumb young-adult fake sci-fi romance novel. From first glance my initial reaction was negative to say the least. I was getting strong Jupiter Ascending vibes from it. That’s basically the meanest thing you can say about a movie set in space. But I watched anyway and was pleasantly surprised. I think it looks really cool, I’m a fan of Dane DeHaan. I have a weird thing for Cara Delevingne even though she hasn’t shown to be able to act her way out of a box and apparently Rihanna is playing an alien stripper. I’m sold.

PS: I know this movie likely will be pretty bad and will probably tank at the box office but whatever, they made a kick ass teaser trailer. Good enough for me.

Special operatives Valerian (Dane DeHaan) and Laureline (Cara Delevingne) maintain order throughout the universe for the government of the human territories. Under orders from their commander (Clive Owen), the duo embark on a mission to Alpha, an intergalactic city where diverse species share their technology and resources for the betterment of all. The ever-expanding metropolis is also home to sinister forces that jeopardize the future of mankind.

 

Leave a Reply

